Logout button

Article
Live index

This copy was last processed on . The copied wiki revision is dated .

The Logout tab is used to end a session of Old School RuneScape, safely removing the player from the world.

Depending on the configured layout, the tab is accessed via a button on either the bottom-right, top-left, or top-right corner. The button resembles a small door or an X, depending on the layout. Once the logout tab is open, the player must click the red button reading "Click here to logout".

The Logout interface.

Players may click the logout button at any time, although players in combat cannot log out until 16 game ticks, or 9.6 seconds, after they have last received a hit.

Players will be automatically logged out if they do not interact with the game for 5 minutes. Interaction includes left- or right-clicking, typing, moving the camera, or simply moving the cursor within the game window; it does not include activating the client window, changing client settings, or zooming the camera with the mouse wheel. This timer can be extended to a maximum of 30 minutes by adjusting game client settings.

The player will also be logged out if they have been playing continuously for 6 hours, regardless of activity. A number of chat messages are displayed after an account has been logged in for a prolonged period of time, with multiple reminders before being automatically logged out after 6 hours in-game.

  • After 4 hours: You've been playing for a while, consider taking a break from your screen.
  • After 5 hours and 30, 50, and 55 minutes: You will be logged out in approximately X minutes. Make sure you move to a safe area or log out now.

World Switcher

Within the logout button interface is the World Switcher. Players can switch between worlds without the need to log out along with the ability to favourite up to two worlds.

Players cannot switch between worlds when under combat and must wait 10 seconds after combat to switch. Players will also log out if they have switched worlds multiple times in a short amount of time.

X-logging

Warning: The following method could result in death.

X-logging is a tactic used to log out while in the midst of Combat that entails clicking the red X on your screen, browser, window, or client to close it. It is mostly used at Dagannoth Kings and in Deep Wilderness. This works because of a 60 second timer before the game forcibly logs you out after an unexpected disconnection during combat. To use this effectively, you need to survive 60 seconds of combat while disconnected.

Multi-combat area X-logging

At Dagannoth Kings, since Spinolyps constantly attack you, it is practically impossible to manually log out; it is much easier to X-log. As the name suggests, you close the screen, browser, window or client, which forces your account to log out. You must be able to endure and tank 60 seconds' worth of damage and must be alone in multi-combat areas, such as the Dagannoth Kings' lair, or death is inevitable.

Single-area Wilderness and X-logging to evade

When used in the Wilderness, X-logging is done to escape a potential PvP scenario in Single-way combat; this will not work in Singles-plus combat. For this to be done correctly, Accept Aid should be off, and you cannot already be in combat with another player (be mindful of the PJ timer), or you will almost certainly die. You have to be auto-attacking a monster in single-way combat (not in singles-plus), and it has to also be attacking you. Additionally, the monster has to take more than 60 seconds to kill, or another player may be able to attack you after the monster you are fighting dies. You will need to prolong the fight by either splashing, reducing your combat stats with Saradomin Brews, fighting with a fun weapon, or unequipping your weapon and fighting unarmed (also known as boxing). Ensure you have sufficient prayer points for Protect Item and to avoid being Smited. Afterwards, close the screen before or during the kill, but allow the 60-second duration at least after closing it before attempting to log back in. Although you will miss the monster drop, your character will automatically log out after 60 seconds have elapsed, thus giving the player killer no time to attack you if done correctly.

After successfully X-logging, you will have to re-open or re-load your game client. Be sure to world hop or bide some time before logging back in to avoid any player killers that may still be in the area.

Changes

Date Changes
17 September 2025
(Update)

The Official Client’s AFK logout timer can now be set up to 30 minutes.

10 December 2024
(Update)

The thumbs-up and down buttons on the logout tab were replaced with 1-5 star rating buttons.

5 October 2022
(Update)

You will now be reminded when you are about to be logged out 30 minutes and 10 minutes before the end of a 6-hour session, on top of the existing warnings.

5 March 2018
(Update)

The logout tab now has thumbs-up and down buttons as part of an in-game feedback system.

13 February 2014
(Update)

The log-out timer that kicks players offline after 6 hours will now do it whether or not they are in combat.

22 February 2013
(Update)

The logout timer has been changed from 90 seconds to 5 minutes.

Trivia

  • In RuneScape Classic, players were automatically logged out if standing in one spot for five minutes, regardless of whether or not they were doing anything.

Source

Content from the Old School RuneScape Wiki (operated by Weird Gloop), licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 3.0.

Source siteOld School RuneScape Wiki
Canonical sourceLogout button
Content licenseCC BY-NC-SA 3.0
License statusdeclared
PictureLogout mobile · file details

Notices

  • Content has been reformatted for web display. Consult the canonical source URL for the authoritative version.
  • Created using intellectual property belonging to Jagex Limited under the terms of Jagex's Fan Content Policy. This content is not endorsed by or affiliated with Jagex.
  • This is an unofficial, non-commercial reference website. It is not endorsed by or affiliated with Jagex Limited or the Old School RuneScape Wiki / Weird Gloop.
  • Non-text media on the source wiki should not be assumed to be available under the same license as the text. Media licensing is recorded per file where known and is otherwise marked unknown.